Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Potential Employer Credit Check

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Potential Employer Credit Check

I recently took a qualifying test for a local fire department. I scored pretty high on the test and I am getting called back to take a physical test. I am in decent shape and should pass the physical test with no problems. The interview process involves a credit and background check. I have never so much as gotten a parking ticket so the background check is no problem. I do have a few hiccups on my credit report. A lot of it is my student loans which add up to 60,000 and I am currently a student, so my debt to income ratio is not very good. I have a few collections from about 4 years ago that I am in the process of getting removed. My scores are 596,591, and 635. My question is, Has anyone ever been rejected from a job offer because of a low credit score? It's not like I am bouncing checks or have ever declared bankruptcy. I was just wondering, and I am sure it varies from employer to employer, if there is a certain score or item on a report that is a red-flag for employers.
Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Potential Employer Credit Check

I can't imagine that they will turn you away for the fire department because of low credit scores. It's not like you'll be working in the financial industry!

I wish you best of luck, it's a noble thing applying to be join your local fire dept. Kudos to you.
Message 2 of 27
Tons_of_Debt
Established Contributor

Since you know they are going to pull your credit anyway, I'd write up a letter explaining the collections. I'm not sure about the FD, but a friend of mine was rejected from the PD due to his CR. Granted, he had a BK, but taking responsibility and showing them what you're doing to improve it will speak volumes.

Don't try to explain it away. Simply admit your past transgressions while focusing on the improvements you've made in the interim.