Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proof of income

tag
tiffo02
Valued Member

Proof of income

Can anybody help me out with.this? I'm.a waitress and get a pay check for about $75 a weej and making over $400 in tips. I put them all in the bank daily but other than my bank statements I have no proof. About a year ago I tried buying a car and was going to use my.bank statements as my proof but the car ended up not being acceptable collateral. The loan officer said it was good enough but the deal never went all the way through snd now I'm reading that I can only.use my taxes as proof? Does anyone know for sure?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Proof of income

I work in finance at a car dealership so I think I can help.

The answer is it depends..

There are a few lenders that will accept 3 months of bank statement deposits as proof of income. Santander is an international company that is one of those lenders.

Other lenders will accept the bank statements but still require a signed 4506-T form to verify the income as claimed with the federal government (capital one is one of those)

Your best hope is to get income stipulations waived (I imagine the dealer would have if they could already) which means your credit isn't strong enough to do so.

You are doing the right thing by depositing your money in to your account so there is atleast some type of paper trail for your tips.

Seek out a friendly knowledgable secondary finance person (they exist I swear) and let him know your income dillemma up front. You can calculate your income by average the deposits from 3 months worth of bank statements.