Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pulled my first credit report -- Qs

tag
kmacqua
Regular Contributor

Pulled my first credit report -- Qs

Hello!

I'm a newbie here and just pulled my credit report for the first time ever: an Experian report via Target's ProtectmyID offer.  Overall, the report is more favorable than I feared. Nonetheless, I'm surprised that it contains two collections items.  I'm surprised--but I'm not sure how to read & interpret this part of the report.  (By the way, I read the "How to Read and Understand Your Credit Report" thread pegged here; very, very helpful, but I'm still confused on this point.)

The two collections items date to 2010, just after an adverse life event. I know I had some delinquent payments on some bills that went to collections.  I don't recognize these particular collections agencies. If the report listed the account/company that sent the item to collections, THAT I would recognize. I'm not currently receiving any mailed statements or calls from collections agencies.

Both tradelines are listed as "potentially negative closed". One has "account status: closed" and "balance: $x.xx". The other also has "account status: closed" but has a charge-off listed under the payment status!

For the first, does this mean that mean that the collections item is paid off and they are just reporting that I had a history of something going to collections in amount $x.xx? And this will just disappear in time.  Or does this mean that there is an item out there that the collections agency believe I still owe and I better take action to get it cleared?  If the former, I'm surprised because I know I had more items go to collections about that time; I would expect more accounts listed.  If the latter, I'm surprised because I thought I had taken care of all items that did go to collections; I'd expect no accounts listed.