Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about terminated retail card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Question about terminated retail card

This is my first time here, and I think I'm in the right place. If not I'm sorry in advance.

Last September I was buying a new mattress at Hom Furniture. I decided to do the no interest financing option and pay it off in three months. I had the money up front but figured it'd add to my credit history.

I went through the instant approval process and was approved. I'd read the whole agreement beforehand and it was a typical retail card... i.e. they own your soul if you mess up in any way. Anyway, I had checked the "Buyer's Right to Cancel" box which states "See the separate notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right." I was told they would get it for me, but that they needed to run the application first. (My big mistake). When I inquired again they didn't actually know what it was. I was told it was part of the agreement that I'd read. I told them it wasn't and got into a big discussion over it. I was sent to a manager who finally ended up calling Citi financial to inquire and was told that the store had that information and they couldn't send a copy, but a copy would be sent with the card in 7 to 10 business days... long after the 3 day rescission period. I just purchased the darn thing cash.

Because of this I told the manager to terminate the whole thing on the spot since they couldn't complete their side of the agreement. They said it was taken care of, but I should call the next day (since the customer phone number was closed at that time) to make sure everything was taken care of. The next day I called Citi and they'd not known about the cancelation, but took care of canceling everything for me.