cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions on collections

tag
Luke1

Questions on collections

I'm new to myfico.com so if the answers to my questions already exist please point me in the right direction. I currently have 3 accounts in collections(medical bills). I anticipate having them paid off by April 2008. My question is how long will they stay on my report after they are paid? If they are legitimate collections can I pay to have them removed? Any thoughts and/or ideas on handling collections would be greatly appreciated.
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Questions on collections

I've been working with collections agencys a lot over the last year, and from my experience, this is what will happen:
Once paid off, ask the agency if they will remove the debt completely from your record.
If they wont (if they say they can't, talk to a supervisor!) then it will stay on your record with a little Paid Off, or Paid In Full mark next to it.
Always push to get the agency to delete it from your record if at all possible.
Message 2 of 4
SmartCookie
Valued Contributor

Luke1 wrote:
I'm new to myfico.com so if the answers to my questions already exist please point me in the right direction. I currently have 3 accounts in collections(medical bills). I anticipate having them paid off by April 2008. My question is how long will they stay on my report after they are paid? If they are legitimate collections can I pay to have them removed? Any thoughts and/or ideas on handling collections would be greatly appreciated.

Search this board and google for whychat HIPAA letter.  Lots of information regarding that that you should be aware of.

Deal with the OC when possible for settlement or PIF.   

Even if you acknowledge the debt, you can still DV the CA.  

Try to get the money together now, then offer a PFD if you want this all off more quickly.