Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I get other loans?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I get other loans?

I'm not an expert on this or the minutiae of FICO scoring, but I've read a lot of people report that their FICO scores fall once a share secured loan is paid off. I certainly wouldn't pay interest on a house or car unnecessarily, but it's not even clear to me that share secured loans are as wonderful (at least for people with a clean but installment-free history) as some people think.

Your signature shows a $1k CSP. What's the story there?

Message 11 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

My credit score is affected by  "Lack of recent installment loan information". Should I delibrately get auto or mortage loans to fix this and increase my credit score?

I only have credit cards now

I get this on all 3 of my reports, too.  You don't say what your scores are,  but just  a heads up, the only time I didn't get this on all  three of my reports was for the hot second I had an 800 on my Equifax. Even then the other two got that comment when they were in the 790s. I apped for a mortgage a few months ago so that one new inquiry dropped me  to the scores you see in my sig.  I don't close until May 3( fingers crossed) so until then, and actually probably for a few months after, I'll have that "lack of recent installment loan" buisness. I'm going to go against the grain and suggest that you concentrate on cleaning up your reports and making the most of what ever new cards you have.  If you need a car, buy a car. If you need a loan get a loan. I can tell you hands down you can get above a 790 without any kind of installmant loan on your account. The only thing on my reports hat is not in my sig is a closed carecredit account that closed for inactivity a few months back.