cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I pay off my student loans or just wait until 2012 for it to get off my credit report?

tag
AgentJackBauer
Established Member

Should I pay off my student loans or just wait until 2012 for it to get off my credit report?

I have a $5200 student loan that I have to pay. I would pay it, if I were able to find a real job! I have not found a real job since I graduated in December 2005.

If I don't find a good job soon, should I just wait until 2012 until that $5200 gets off my record, or should I just pay it off slowly? I know that it will help my score if I pay the lowest montly payment $80 something, but 2012 is not that far away. 

What do you guys think?

Message 1 of 25
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
nathan
Frequent Contributor

Re: Should I pay off my student loans or just wait until 2012 for it to get off my credit report?

If you have the ability to pay it, why not just pay it, after all it is a valid debt. 2012 is still a long time from now and this may screw you before that date.
Message 7 of 25
24 REPLIES 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Should I pay off my student loans or just wait until 2012 for it to get off my credit report?

Why is it 2012 out of your records?
Message 2 of 25
AgentJackBauer
Established Member

Doesnt it take 7 years for a collection to get out of your records?
Message 3 of 25
Cleanmachine
Frequent Contributor

Check out this Web Site for more information

http://www.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/DCS/disputes.html

Message 4 of 25
cobaltnv
Established Contributor

Like Buckyball I am also curious why you think your loan will be removed from your reports in 2012?

Student loans are not like other loans. They are very difficult to have removed without payment. They are also one of the only loans you can rehab back into positive status relatively easy (usually one year of payments or something).

TU 810: EQ 813: EX 814 (9/16/09--Loan officer pull)

Helpful Threads