Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Some credit questions

tag
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Some credit questions

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm new to all this, but wouldn't opening/having more cards with such a short credit history have an adverse effect on one's CR?

Adding any card will ding your FICO. However, you are being dinged extra for not having a good mix of credit. Adding that first will improve your FICO as the gain for the improvedmix outweighs the new account ding. Folks who add their first typically see some nice gains. Same goes with adding a second, and I'd argue a third. You'll see some increases with each provided your util remains in check. IME, I saw gains on the first 3 and lost on the rest. I added everything at one, but I'm now a proponent of adding them over time and spaced out. That'll improve your odds of higher limits when aiming for unsecured on #2 onwards. I recommend adding the first via a secured CC, then waiting 6-12 months to add another and another months after that.

Message 11 of 12
Swapmeet
Valued Contributor

Re: Some credit questions

@llecs wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm new to all this, but wouldn't opening/having more cards with such a short credit history have an adverse effect on one's CR?

Adding any card will ding your FICO. However, you are being dinged extra for not having a good mix of credit. Adding that first will improve your FICO as the gain for the improvedmix outweighs the new account ding. Folks who add their first typically see some nice gains. Same goes with adding a second, and I'd argue a third. You'll see some increases with each provided your util remains in check. IME, I saw gains on the first 3 and lost on the rest. I added everything at one, but I'm now a proponent of adding them over time and spaced out. That'll improve your odds of higher limits when aiming for unsecured on #2 onwards. I recommend adding the first via a secured CC, then waiting 6-12 months to add another and another months after that.