Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TWO CREDIT FILES MERGED INTO ONE - HELP

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

TWO CREDIT FILES MERGED INTO ONE - HELP

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I just wanted to share my story as briefly as I can with you all. And possibly get feedback as to how I can fix this problem. So here goes, back in 2002 I believe it was. My sister-in-law went car shopping. She needed a car and was trying to find a place that would approve her for an auto loan. In the span of a month's time. She must have gone to at least 10 different car lots and at least had her credit run to see if she would qualify for a loan. The problem with that was, at that time we both shared the same exact first, middle and last name, as well as the same address. Also we grew up in the same town, went to the same schools, got our Social Security cards issued from same office within months of each other. Long story short, basically our identifying information was practically identical. Except that she is 1 yr. older than me.

Her middle name is different than mine. Our SS #'s are not identical they're just similar.W hat ended up happening was somehow, one of those car salesmen that ran her credit report. Must have gotten my report and her report up on the screen. And thinking that it was one person, hastily, somehow. blended us together. And you would not believe what a pain in the neck it has been. And how I found out this happened was, a few years after she had bought her car, I went to go buy a car and get a loan. And the salesman took my information, ran my report and came back and said "We can't approve you for a car loan because you already have a car and a loan showing on your credit report. And you don't have the income to support two loans." OMG