Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many accounts?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Too many accounts?

When I first began trying to get my credit back in track a few years ago, I went to a small loan place in town that does loans. The way it works, is you start on level 1 and as you pay and gain credit with them, they will gradually increase your loan amount. They also allow you to refinance every so often. Each time you refinance it shows on your credit that the one loan was paid and a new loan was open. Thinking this will help establish my credit, I've been doing this for a little over 2 years. As a result I have 12 paid accounts/never late with them on my CR and 1 open with high limit of $1225. My limit began at $275.

My question is, will having this many accounts with the same company over and over hurt my credit more than help it? Should I try sending a GW letter and having them stop reporting a few of the loans?

Thanks.
Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Too many accounts?

All you are really doing is building installment loan history. 1 loan would have been enough to start building your credit. Unless you have a reason for continuing this practice I would see about using your money in other ways. Do you have any other credit TLs on your reports? Any bad ones?
Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have 2 other installment loans. Both are in good standing, 1- 30 day late payment a year ago on one of them. I have a paid auto loan. Was paid almost 2 years ago, but had several late payments. I do have some small collections that I am going to try PFD on. My scores are mid-high 500's. Figured I'd get the collections removed if I could and then apply for a few CC.

The reason I ask if that is too many is because someone told me that it makes it look like I can't pay my bills and have to keep getting loans to do so.