Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Verizon wireless and other collections

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Verizon wireless and other collections

I'm a newbie and I'm working to make my credit good!! Why does it seem like I could have used this information in 1997 when I was a freshman in college and being offered a shiny new mastercard!!

I'm wondering if anyone has some advice/input about the following:

I have a verizon wireless account that was opened in 2002 - it was paid in Sept 2003, but on my reports it is showing as an "account" with a $0 balance, but it says charged off bad debt.  Does this mean they do not have my payment on record?  Also, because it was so long ago, how does the newer cell phone regulations affect this account?  Has anyone had any luck with gw letters with verizon?

I also have two collection accounts, should I send gw letters to the CA or the actual company?

I feel like I'm on that commercial where the guy looks at his credit report and drives off in a blue beat up car!! Smiley Happy

Thanks all - I've been reading your posts and I can't wait to learn what you all have learned!!
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Verizon wireless and other collections

alikat425 wrote:
I'm a newbie and I'm working to make my credit good!! Why does it seem like I could have used this information in 1997 when I was a freshman in college and being offered a shiny new mastercard!!

I'm wondering if anyone has some advice/input about the following:

I have a verizon wireless account that was opened in 2002 - it was paid in Sept 2003, but on my reports it is showing as an "account" with a $0 balance, but it says charged off bad debt.  Does this mean they do not have my payment on record?  Also, because it was so long ago, how does the newer cell phone regulations affect this account?  Has anyone had any luck with gw letters with verizon?