Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WHEW!! That was close.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

WHEW!! That was close.

I have been working on my credit for the last 6 months.  During that time I have not been late on anything.  About a month ago I sent in payment on one of my credit cards. .  Well yesterday I checked my caller Id and noticed they called twice.  I immediately called them back and the lady said they never received my payment.  Long story short I quickly went to the nearest store and did a MoneyGram. That way I could pay in cash and then give them the moneygram account nember which guarantees instant payment.   I could have done a payment over the phone, but it would have hit the system later too close to confort.  The point is I was 24 hours from having to start all over  again working on my credit again.  One late may have took my score down 50 to 100 points.  Of course I could have argued that it was their fault that my payment was lost.  But that is not the point.  I was careless and almost messed up.  NEVER BE LATE

Message Edited by monro411 on 12-14-2007 08:51 AM
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: WHEW!! That was close.

Really need to start paying online or though bill pay w/ your bank.

I start to worry if the payment is not posted w/i 48 hours.
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

As Timothy said....you need to pay online. Also keep in mind that they might still have the mailed payment or if they receive it, they will deposit it along with your other payment! don't be overdrawn!

A few years ago several CCC got in trouble with the FTC for holding checks until after they were late & charged the people late fees. Even if they do not hold them it takes them time to post payments....this is why you should pay online....no mistakes about the date paid!

Message Edited by HappyDays on 12-14-2007 09:58 AM
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable