Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What do credit card companies want?

tag
Rxdoc
New Visitor

I would like to get a mid-level credit limit card for emergencies but despite having the same job since I graduated 4 years ago and earning above 6-figures, I am always declined. My credit history is not the greatest, but I don't have any collections or a bankruptcy. How can my income and work history not be enough to get a single credit card, but it can get me financed for vehicles and a very nice rental? How have others gotten credit card companies to give them a chance?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
user5387
Valued Contributor

Re: What do credit card companies want?

Auto loans are secured, while CCs are unsecured.  That's one difference.

If you post some details of your scores and history, you might get some useful input from others about various things.

Message 2 of 6
myjourney
Super Contributor

@Rxdoc wrote:
I would like to get a mid-level credit limit card for emergencies but despite having the same job since I graduated 4 years ago and earning above 6-figures, I am always declined. My credit history is not the greatest, but I don't have any collections or a bankruptcy. How can my income and work history not be enough to get a single credit card, but it can get me financed for vehicles and a very nice rental? How have others gotten credit card companies to give them a chance?

Welcome to the forum 

More info needed to better help 

INQ's in the last year 

You said history wasn't great but you have no baddies please explain 

Fico scores?

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 3 of 6
Rxdoc
New Visitor