cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What would you guys do if you got laid off next month?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What would you guys do if you got laid off next month?

I'm trying to keep my eye on the prize taking good financial steps so I can buy a house in 2 years. This is ultimately what led me here. I'm great at saving money, the job market I'm in however is really volitile. I'm a Senior Web Designer at a mens fashion retailer, there was just a merger a few weeks ago, and nobody else seems to see the clear transfer of operational control with the other company.

So what would you guys do if you got laid off next month?

Would you ask for CLI on your cards now?

Or reduce the CL on your cards?

Get more cards?

Apply for a personal loan?

Or payoff any debts now?

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
youdontkillmoney
Valued Contributor

Re: What would you guys do if you got laid off next month?

pay off debt to reduce financial pressure/stress

Message 2 of 16
Kenny
Moderator Emeritus

Pay off debts now.. completely. Ask for CLIs if they aren't HP and just in general tend to your affairs the best way you can to set yourself up for success if the worse should happen.
Message 3 of 16
CreditDunce
Valued Contributor

Pay off debts.  Don't make any new big purchases.  If you are willing to move to a new city assuming the worst, don't sign long lease extensions.  You might want to consider going month to month.

No more CC's.  At least none that require spend for a bonus.  It may cause you to buy stuff you don't need get the bonus.  If you don't have a low interest CC, I might consider getting one from a CU.  Or getting a CC with a 0% intro rate.  But I wouldn't activate the card right now. 

I don't think CLI's are important if we are talking about reward cards / high interest rates.   High interest rate CC's with high limits can get you in trouble quickly.

Get any medical/dental care taken care of now assuming you have good insurance.