cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to close my sub prime credit cards?

tag
dl9346

When to close my sub prime credit cards?

Hi,

I've been working on my credit since 2003 and started with a Household bank and an Orchard card each having 800 credit lines. Since then my scores have gone to the high 600's and I have an American Express and juniper card with 3,000 credit lines and a Chase rewards with a 5,000 credit line. Should I close the HSBC cards?

Thanks
Message 1 of 20
19 REPLIES 19
Neblett
Regular Contributor

Re: When to close my sub prime credit cards?

I think, if you are able to get regular credit cards now (ones without annual fees and that have better interest rates), you should close your sub-prime cards as soon as you can pay the balances down to zero, and before you accrue another annual fee.
Message 2 of 20
Tuscani
Moderator Emeritus

Agreed. The only reason I would close a card is if It were costing me money. Time for you to close them out now that you have graduated from sub-prime!

Message Edited by Tuscani on 04-29-2007 04:02 PM
Message 3 of 20
MM1234
Regular Contributor

You can call in once they hit you with a fee and ask them to waive it for that year or you will close it. I did that with 1 card I have that I like for miles ( i use them alot ) and they did. The only thing is you need to remember to call them next year and so on. The extra credit limit helps your score / over all Credit Limit ratio. Even if you get a year out of them its fine. If they dont do it next year ( or say no this year ) then cancel at that time.
Message 4 of 20
Anonymous
Not applicable

MM1234 wrote: