cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is my credit score so low, very frustrating process!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why is my credit score so low, very frustrating process!

Hi everyone, need some help from you experts out there.  I've been working on improving my credit for 5 years but my score is still much lower than I thought it would be. 

Any suggestions?

Here are my particulars:

Credit Line #1 - Fixed loan $1,000, Prosper.com, balance $415 (paid off two Prosper loans prior to this).

Macys Card - $0 Balance

Visa #1 - $240 balance.  Credit line is $2,500

Visa #2 - $290 balance. Credit line is $3,000

Homeowner, 100% equity, paid in full. 

Automobile: Paid Cash

income: $62,000

Fixed Expenses: $1,600 for food, gas, real estate tax, insurance, utilities (no rent or mortgage, own my property free and clear), etc.

Discretionary Income: $1,500 a month (savings, 401k, vacation, investments)

I don't like using credit so I paid everything in cash until 2006 when I decided to establish a credit history (as I may need a loan to pay for kids college, just in case).

So I got several credit cards and a small line of credit from Prosper.com.

History:

Perfectly clean credit record for past 7 years (I didn't start using credit until 2006, so really 6 years).  Not a single late payment, no judgements, liens, past history of bankruptcy, nothing.  I've never defaulted on a loan.    Payments are made well before the due date and I keep my balances at 10% utilization for maximum scoring.

Sounds wonderful right?  Well...I went to check my score and it was 620!  I would think it should be at least 700-750 by now.  There is nothing negative on my report.

I don't know what else to do to bring my score up, I've already established a perfect 6 year history and paid off 2 small term loans two years ahead of time.