Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why such a big difference???

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Why such a big difference???

All,
Like many others on here, I am new to the credit scoring game. I have several questions...

First and foremost I have a pretty large difference in my different credit scores:
Experian (which is my lowest score and has not moved in nearly a year) - 599
Equifax - 638
Transunion - 659

In my eyes, that's a pretty big swing. Now to answer a couples of questions. I have three old collections that I have recently (3 weeks ago) paid off in full. I really wish I wouldve known about the PFD, but two of the CA's have said that they will delete from my report. I am trying to talk to the third at the moment. The total of the debt is around $1200. I am especially frustrated about my Ex score, because it hasn't moved in over a year, even though during that time I have taken out an auto loan and Citifinancial has reported every month that the bill has been paid on time (I actually have overpaid my payment by about 15%). Yet for that, my Ex score hasn't changed.

Also, I don't have any current credit cards, primarily because I really don't have an expensive lifestyle. Generally, if I want something, I'll save up for it and pay for it myself.

I would like to buy a home in the next few months, but I really don't want to get stuck with a bad mortgage. Does anyone have any recommendations on what I should do?? I know that my score would take a short term hit if I were to open a new CC, and I plan on opening up an account in the near future (hopefully after the mortgage). What does everyone think of my options, and how much of a jump will I see from paying off (and hopefully deleting) my old collections (all the collections were from 4-5 years ago)?
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Why such a big difference???

I just wanted to bump this back up to get someone's response.
Message 2 of 11
MidnightVoice
Super Contributor