cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will a student loan hurt my cosigners credit?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Will a student loan hurt my cosigners credit?

Hi guys,

I need a student loan for about $20,000 to pay for the rest of school (I'm currently a sophomore) and some of graduate school. My credit sucks so I know I need a cosigner. One of my parents was considering it, but are worried about the effects on their credit score and borrowing power if they sign on the loan. My mom is very old school and tells me "hell  no" in a nice way (I've seen her score-827!). On the other hand, my dad is a little more understanding but is worried it'll put a death grip on his credit. I told him about the cosigner release, but he's still hesitant. I don't know his score but I know he'll qualify. He has a car loan that he owes about 15,000 on, no mortgage-his rent is $430/month, a few credit cards with pretty low balances. He's retired with an annual income of about $35,000 a year. My question is will a cosigners credit be horribly limited or is it not as bad as a fear. Any advice would help a bunch!
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

Re: Will a student loan hurt my cosigners credit?

I'm not knowledgeable about the impact on your dad's credit, but I am curious as to how you screwed up your credit so badly by your sophomore year in college. It doesn't seem fair that he would have to have a low-level worry going on all the time, wondering if his scores will tank if you mess up again. Can he take out the loan in his name, and you two set up a very formal, written-out plan where you pay him? If you have been careless with repayment in your short past, I don't know that you've had much time to change this behavior.