Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

care credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

care credit card

Hi All,

New to this board!  Last Feb I went to the dentist to get my wisdom teeth removed.  They automatically signed me up for care credit financing and charged me the total amount for the procedure.  A week later I canceled my appointment and never had any work done.  However, they still wanted me to pay the full amount.  I argued with the office and they finally discontinued the financing after I paid 80 'service charges'.  I'm in the process of buying a house and care credit is coming up on my credit report as closed, but it is delinquent because of a high balance during the time I was trying to get it resolved with the dentist.

Is there any way I can get this off my credit report and what do I need to do?  It's brining my score way down.

Thanks!!!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: care credit card

i've never used care credit before but i'm just curious about how it was done "automatically". wouldn't this be something you filled out an application for and had to sign?

if someone filled it out without your knowledge or consent i'd tell the dentist to remove it from your reports or you'll sue (possibly prosecute?) have them remove it and sue anyway.  that's just wrong of them

good luck

Message 2 of 5
vawt
Contributor

Care credit is just a health focused credit card.  I have one and it worked great, I was able to pay the monthly bill out of my HSA account to make my eye surgery tax free and 0% interest.

I'm guessing you filled out some paperwork to apply for the credit card?  If not, you have a real issue with that dentist.  they can't apply for credit on your behalf.  If they cannot produce any paperwork showing you signed a credit application, I would talk to a lawyer immediately.