cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

credit questions

tag
project94

credit questions

Alright i'm 24 years old and i've screwed up my credit and would like to bring my score up because i would like to buy a home in the next year. Credit scores are trans-558 equifax-521 experian-554. i had 3 credit cards 1 through my credit union $1000 limit with a couple late payments, no balance on this account at this time. also have a car loan through this credit union with a remaining balance of $7200. which shows no late payments. My other two cards are bank of america visa's, one with a balance of $7000 and the other is $3000 both show multiple late payments. Bank of america is who i bank through. I recently paid off the $3000 card and have just started paying $1000 every two weeks on the $7000 card so i can hopefull pay this one off within the next couple months. Basically i'm just wondering where i should start to try and rebuild my credit. i'm new to this but maybe gw letters?? any help is greatly appreciated.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Boswd
Valued Contributor

Re: credit questions

yes goodwill letters are always worth a shot.   But you are heading in the right direction.   Getting the balances down on your credit card, have your main goal be between 0-10% Utilization on them.  There you'll see a nice bump in  score.

Also things to work on and/or keep up is keeping your nose clean.   Make sure all your bills this includes ALL your bills ( Utlitly, cell phone etc.)  are up to date and current.  Lower your Debt to Income Ratio where possible. Don't apply for any unneccsary credit during this time.  Make sure your checking account remains spotless    Build up your reserves, savings, checking, IRA and/or 401K and build up your down payment funds.  

All this will go along way towards approval.   Remember your score is only one aspect of the mortgage process,  they take everything into account, so keep everything current
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous