Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

high total of outstanding debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

high total of outstanding debt

First off, thanks to myFICO, I'm finally otw to good credit! I've lived 7 years in credit HELL and now I'm finally seeing my scores come up as all my baddies fell off!

I pulled my report again today as my next to last baddy fell off and my score rose 20 pts to 644! YAY! My last one will be gone in about three weeks.

Now looking at my myfico report, the high total of outstanding debt is the only thing that is "not good" on the FICO score ingredients.
My question is, is my debt keeping my score down? Will it ever come up on its own, or will these installment debts keep it down? I really can't afford to make BIG payments on these. I'm just a poor little teacher!

My debts:
Student Loan: $16,768
Small installment appliance loan: $955
Car loan: $11,948

Total: $29,671

This is the only thing on my credit report, except for one baddy that will fall off this month for $80 and I just opened a credit card with a CL of $500 because it told me I needed some revolving credit.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: high total of outstanding debt

bump -

Will student loans and my car note debt keep my credit score low?

Message 2 of 10
guiness56
Epic Contributor

Other than payment history and AAoA, installment loans play a very little part in utilization. 

Message 3 of 10
marty56
Super Contributor

I thought the debt comment by MyFICO was CC debt, not installment loans.  Are you sure your CC debt is reported as zero?  If the installment loan was reported as revolving and the CL is 1000 and you owe $955, that would be maxed out and the source of the comment.
1/25/2021: FICO 850 EQ 848 TU 847 EX
Message 4 of 10
smallfry
Senior Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: