Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

my problem: considerable cash and lots of debt

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

my problem: considerable cash and lots of debt

Here's my story.  I am a disabled US veteran on social security and VA disability.  For 8 years I have had a fiduciary handling my check.  The first one of 6 years was a fraud and is still being investigated.  The second one has been great.  I asked to handle my own affairs again and my request was granted effective this month.  My current payee has saved about $15,000 which I will be getting in a lump sum.  I'm also saving $500-$1000 per month but plan to move to better quarters soon and do some traveling.   Because of my foolish financial behavior (much caused by gambling) I amassed a $124,000 debt on a home equity line of credit.   The house doesn't belong to me, but I was the primary borrower, bailing out my stepmother out of debt back in 2006.  I have lost contact with her and she does not respond to my inquires (or the bank's).  The loan enters repayment phase in about a year.  I also ran up a $50,000 credit card debt in 2010 and that has been settled.  I had countless 120+ lates but no bankruptcy.  The home equity loan was late 11 times, most recently a 60-day late in September 2013.  I have been good since then, and the home equity balance is down to $110,000.  My credit scores have rebounded to 706-717, no inquiries since June 2015 (2,5,6 respectively on the CRA's), and I hold 7 credit cards with a total utilization of near zero.