Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie with lots of questions!!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

newbie with lots of questions!!!

hello everyone im new to the forums and glad i found them. so heres my story..... i made some dumb choices right after i graduated from high school and ended up with a few charge offs on my credit report. ive never been able to get a cc for yrs now until recently. i got one with hsbc that helps repair credit  and i have two store cc that i was shocked that i got approved. ive taken care of 2 charge offs and was wondering if i can get them deleted from my credit report. there is also one that im paying on in payments every month. by me pating my chare offs does that help any way. im only 23 yrs young and i want to fix my credit for when my husband and i decide to buy a house later in the future. im also an authorized user and some of my hubbys accounts. does that help as well or no??

the next part also is that unfortunately my husband is in the same predicament. we have some open cc but closed a few and entered in dmp program. i did the research on it and its certified by the bbb. does that make a difference?? how can we fix our credit altogether?? thanks inadvance.....
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: newbie with lots of questions!!!

Unfortunately once you pay, it's very tough to get paid collections removed from your reports. Paid chargeoffs may, I stress may, be a bit easier to get removed.

It is for this reason I say that one should NEVER pay collections or charge offs, unless you have to or you get a PFD.

A paid collection or chargeoff isn't any better than an unpaid collection or chargeoff. Don't worry, you'll hear contrary viewpoints very shortly.

You might have to pay it because you're still under the SOL and they are handing it off to lawyer to file suit. You might have to because you're buying a home and qualify for a prime mortgage.