Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

payoff car?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

payoff car?

I'm sorry if this has come up before.  I'm new to this amazing site.
I will be applying for my first mortgage in a few months.  I got an Experian credit score of 737.  The site I used listed several things that have a positive impact on my score (no delinquent accounts, on time payments, available credit, etc.) and one thing that could have a negative impact.  Here's the quote from the website:

• Although having installment loans, such as auto loans, on your credit report can help you build a solid credit history, having too many installment loans can bring your score down because they carry fixed monthly payments. Fixed payments are sometimes viewed by lenders as negative because they may affect your ability to meet other loan obligations. As you pay off your existing installment loans you may begin to improve your credit score
  •  

I only owe about $1900 more on my car.  Would it help or hurt my score to go ahead and take the money out of savings and pay it off?  I'd like to pay it and just start making that monthly payment to my savings account, but I don't want to do it if there's a chance closing the auto loan will hurt my credit.  Once I payoff the auto loan, the only installment loans I'll have are student loans.

Also, I only got the Experian score.  Is it important for me to pay to get the other scores?

Thanks so much for any advice.

edited for accuracy

Message Edited by lohanck on 11-28-2007 10:53 AM

Message Edited by lohanck on 11-28-2007 01:00 PM
          Message 1 of 10
          9 REPLIES 9
          Anonymous
          Not applicable

Re: payoff car?

If you have funds available, pay off the car and get some more credit established.  A few cards, maybe a personal loan.  If you've had the car loan for at least a year and half or two, that's definitely enough, stop paying interest and pay it off if you can.
          Message 2 of 10