Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

student loan disability discharge

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

student loan disability discharge

Hi all,

I'll keep this short.  I have 14 years credit history.  On my report, I have 4 credit cards, 2 of which are over 10 years old.  I also have 2 student loans that I have been repaying for 5 years with no missed or lates.  In the past, I've had a mortgage, car note, and other student loans all of which are paid in full.   Basically, here's what happened.  I graduated college and became disabled (blindness).   I bought a house 2 years ago.  I had an 805 credit score at the time.  My income is low, so I bought a fixer upper.  

I sold that house and used some equity to buy another house.  That house did not qualify for a mortgage since it was in disrepair.  I bought it cheap and paid cash.  I used my credit cards to fix it up (assuming I would get a home equity line or mortgage and pay off the balances once the house was up to par.)  Well, the house is fixed.  I have three cards that are at the top of their limits, but with no lates or overages.

I was recenlty turned down for a home equity line.  The letter said my credit score was 662 (I reviewed it, and nothing is different than I described).  They said the "key factors" were 1. serious delinquency, 2. proportion of balance or limits too high, 3. time since delinquency too recent.

I've been turned down for 2 credit cards for the same reasons.  I called transunion, got some guy in India, who just wanted to sell me a score.  He could not tell me what was delinquent.  I find no delinquency anywhere.  

Two questions.  !. Would  a credit score drop from 805 to 662 just because I took 3 cards close to their max (total 20k, but the house is worth 85k and has no mortgage).