Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why is my credit being "dinged"???

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

why is my credit being "dinged"???

okay, obviously my score will lower when a new account is opened or when a balance increase is reported. But why does equifax report a balance increase when i actually pay my CC off before it is due??? because of this report, my score gets ding'ed.....i've been reading of equifax's horrible business practices and don't understand why this would be???? credit noob here, so any information would be appreciated. thanks
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: why is my credit being "dinged"???

The CRA just stores the data that your CCC sends them each month. Your CCC is required by law to update every 60 days, most update every month. Depending on when your CCC reports they could be reporting to the CRA a balance. The only way to determine what's happening is to pull your report and see what dates your CCC are reporting as opposed to when your bill is due.

- AZQ
Message 2 of 17
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

You can also call your CCC and ask when they report. I would then compare what they tell you with the dates you see on your CR's, 'cause ya just never know... Smiley Wink

Sometimes there is a lag between when the CCC reports and when the CRA posts it on your report, but the date showing on the report SHOULD be the date that the CCC reported. So it might be reported to the CRA on the 9th but not show up on your report until you pull it on the 12th, for instance. But the date on the report should be 10/09/07 (or whatever.)

On my reports, EX posts promptly, usually that day or the next, but the other two lollygag around.
* Credit is a wonderful servant, but a terrible master. * Who's the boss --you or your credit?
FICO's: EQ 781 - TU 793 - EX 779 (from PSECU) - Done credit hunting; having fun with credit gardening. - EQ 590 on 5/14/2007
Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Not applicable