cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1st time home buyer, looking for low down payment loan, dealing with mid 600 credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

1st time home buyer, looking for low down payment loan, dealing with mid 600 credit score

I'm looking to be a first time home buyer and currently have an income of $70k in a metro area where this is above average for an individual, probably on-par with median household in some areas and below in others. I've had very negative experiences renting so am eager to finally buy a home. My weak points are my credit score (more about this below) and the fact that I've only had a good income for about a year, but before this I was a student. I work in an in-demand technology field so I'm confident of being able to continue employment and buying a home would actually cut my monthly housing payments in half.

Basically, a loan officer I talked with told me the lowest total closing / down payment + fees I could do would be around $7,000 for $100,000. This is through the First Time Homeowner program and I realize its lower than what people would normally get but I feel an FHA loan is the only realistic option for me at this point. In the metro I live in, the housing crisis has hit hard to I can probabaly find something I would be happy with for less than that, as low as say $70,000.