Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accelerators - Biweekly Mortgage Payments

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Accelerators - Biweekly Mortgage Payments

We recently did a refi on our home.  About two months after the loan was completed we received what I felt was misleading letter, from a Company called National Biweekly Administration, that had to do with them suggesting and managing biweekly mortgage payments.  This biweekly mortgage payment plan would supposedly reduce the loan term, interest paid and principle paid by substantial amounts without increasing the monthly payment amount.

Once I studied the letter and went to their website I understood the concept they were pushing, which was a good idea, but I saw no need to have them manage the payments when with automatic electronic payments it's merely a matter of setting up the biweekly electronic mortgage payments with our bank.  However, I contacted the mortgage company servicing are loan (loan sold to Freddie Mac) and asked about making the electronic biweekly payments.  Their response was, "At this time we do not have a bi-weekly payment program for your type of loan."  They also went on to say, "You may accomplish the same thing by taking your monthly payment, dividing it by 12, and making a principal only payment for that amount each month."

I'm not sure I completely understand what the representative from the mortgage servicing company is saying, but it seems he/she is saying that by adding an additional 1/12th of the monthly payment to our mortgage payment it would result in the same savings as the biweekly payments, but if that is the case I don't believe it because he/ she seems to be saying increase your monthly payment by 1/12th, which I don't want, and some quick head math is saying the savings (loan term, interest & principal amounts) wouldn't be as much as the biweekly mortgage payments.

So my questions are: