Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice for young first time home buyer

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Advice for young first time home buyer

Hi all,

I've lurked on these forums in the past, but now I'm in a relatively unique situation and wanted to get others' input on the matter

I'm a recent college grad (graduated in 12/2016) and landed a good paying job in my field that started in 01/2017. However, I was recently recruited to another company, and anticipate on going to the new company in 04/2017 or so. 

I want to purchase a condo this year, I'm currently targetting sometime between August and October 2017.

Income/Downpayment

-Salary/Income: $75k (+ some misc income -- not reliable income, so not going to factor that in)

-Downpayment: 20% - Looking at roughly $45k- Looking to purchase the condo I've been renting

Debts

-Car loan - Roughly $31k outstanding- $605/month @ 1.9%

Credit Utilization Ratio - 0% to 1%, depending on month (PIF monthly, usually before statement cuts)

-10 Credit cards currently open, Total CL is around $42k

-Average age of accounts: 1 Year, 5 Months - I could make the average age 2 years by closing ~4 accounts and dropping my credit limit ~$10k

-10 hard pulls in the last 2 years, 5 of those HPs were for my car loan (Was going through manufacturer's financing, but dealership pulled for multiple banks anyway) - Will be around 7 HPs when looking to buy later this year.

-Credit score (according to CreditKarma, AMEX, Citi, Cap1, etc) is in the mid 740 to mid 750 range.

All accounts are in good standing, no late payments, no deragatory remarks, etc. The 2 main points of concern for me right now is the higher number of HPs I've had (latest one was in Late Nov/Early Dec - for the car), and the average age of my credit. However, I see my short employment history being another factor (although it looks like I can qualify through FHA because I was in school the last 3.5 years and was able to secure a good job immediately after).