cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I eligible for ANY type of loan?

tag
sigep0361

Am I eligible for ANY type of loan?

I am currently in year 2 of a 3 year owner finance agreement where I need to secure my own financing by September 2015.  The owner is "considering" a 2 year extension but is very hesitant. 

My situation:

I'm a student not earning a great deal of income but I have a sizable savings I have been living on along with a few grants for school. My credit score is a 750+ and I have perfect payment history. I've never owned a home prior to this. I put 5% down when I moved in September of 2012 and the property has gained approximately 17% value (per a recent appraisal). The current contract I'm in was drawn up by my attorney.  I am in school full time (18hrs) and grinding to finish (may '16) but I cannot possibly earn enough income to qualify for a conventional loan and I wouldn't qualify for FHA due to the lack of income.  It all rests on the savings.

My question:

Is there a legitimate way for me to secure financing with my current status? I appear to have roughly 22% equity in the property, is there anything I can do with that?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Information on this is so hard to find.

My DTI is "technically" high since my income is zilch, but I have $78k in available credit - $0 cc balances.  My only debts are 2 auto loans:

1 from 2010: 36k. 2800 remains. 1.9% 72mo

1 from 2011: 30k. 17k remains. 2.9% 72mo

No other debts.  Flawless credit.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
tooleman694
Valued Contributor

Re: Am I eligible for ANY type of loan?

If you get a job after you finish school in the career field of your degree it will count as 2 year income for FHA.

Message 2 of 9
Gunnar419
Valued Contributor

This is an interesting dilemma. I have experience with seller-financed loans, but every seller in that circumstance is so different it's hard to compare them.