cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Am I getting the run around from my Broker?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Am I getting the run around from my Broker?

Does this sound fishy? I was recommended a broker by my realtor, because she's an expert on First time homebuyer programs.  I called her up, she took down my info and said she could work with me.  I provided her with my W-2's, bank statements, pay stubs, etc.  She pre-approved me and sent me a letter but it only included the pre-approval amount and the taxes of the property.  I've never heard of taxes being in a pre-approval letter, but I'm new at this. 

So, I asked her for a general idea of what my closing costs and monthly payment would be with a home purchase of $195,000... Without double posting,http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Mortgage-Loans/Need-some-advice-please-is-this-APR-amp-Monthly-payme...... I've asked her on numerous occasions what my APR might be, she's done a great job at not answering me, so finally I sent her another email today, asking her what she thinks it would be.... This was her answer to me;

"The APR consists of some of the closing costs added into the rate.  Since you have the worst case costs in front of you, that’s even better than an APR. 

The APR was created for comparison use to tell when a bank had higher costs than another but if you have my worst case costs for EVERYONE involved, that’s better.

I don’t put all of these costs into the mortgage software, and that’s the only way to give you an APR.

This spreadsheet is not an official good faith estimate, and is only used internally so I know the worst case.

If you want an APR, then I’ll need you to go through the whole approval process and create a real application and have you sign the 60 pages.

Just let me know.

Thanks."

What would you make of this? Am I overreacting because I'm getting a bad feeling? Please help!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita