Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Amex, DTI and getting a mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Amex, DTI and getting a mortgage

We have fairly high scores with our average 730ish.  We have high income but also have DTI over 45%.  We charge everything (almost) each month on our amex then pay off.  This is what is driving the DTI so high.  How do mortgage companies look at this debt since i heard there was a change happening and should we switch to paying with our debit card until the are approved?  

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Amex, DTI and getting a mortgage

I am by no means an expert, but from everything I have read, you should pay off your account BEFORE the due date so that it is before the statement frame. So if your statement date is, for example, February 5, you should pay your account in full by February 4 and not run it up again until after statement date, then pay off again before statement date. :-) 

(Again - totally new to this whole credit fixing thing, but basing my answer on what I have read.) :-) 

Message 2 of 5
kc0039
Established Contributor

We'll use the monthly amount showing on the credit report. If the monthly payment is the same as the balance (Which is how AMEX mostly reports, idk why) we'll use 5% of the balance as monthly payment. Also, DTI can be over 45% but less than 50% with conventional loans

Licensed in IL
Message 3 of 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

@kc0039 wrote:

We'll use the monthly amount showing on the credit report. If the monthly payment is the same as the balance (Which is how AMEX mostly reports, idk why) we'll use 5% of the balance as monthly payment. Also, DTI can be over 45% but less than 50% with conventional loans