cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are Student Loans Ruining Our House Dreams?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Are Student Loans Ruining Our House Dreams?

Prospective First-TIme Home Buyer  - I've been working on our credit like crazy and we finally went from mortgage scores of

11/26/17

Experian562
Equifax537
Transunion574

to

12/7/17

Experian607*
Equifax631
Transunion650

*EX has been slow to update but this number is lower than I anticipate. I also expect a significant additional gain as I just got a removal of a 90 day late that hasn't show up yet. 

No collections, a few late payments after having medical issues, no judgements, BK, etc. About $8500 in revolving plus about $25,000 in installment debt (cars, other loans)

A major roadblock to our ability to buy a home is my massive (~$120,000) in student loan debt - scary I know. I work in the public sector, income is over $100k with 5% pay increases annually and I plan to enroll in the Public Loan debt forgiveness program once I start paying. Right now all of my Fed loans are deferred, I am paying around $350/month on WF private loans.

A few loan officers I've talked to won't even engage because of the 1% requirement which puts my DTI pretty high. Will I have to pay down my loans before I can purchase even though they will be forgiven anyway? Its getting pretty discouraging...

15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Are Student Loans Ruining Our House Dreams?

Income over $100K puts your 1% student loans at less than 12% of your DTI.  It isn't the student loans alone, it's all the debt you need to clear out.

The student loans aren't a priority since some of that will get forgiven so you just need to tackle everything else.  Are your other installment loans secured items you can downsize or liquidate to pay off the loans?  Is your credit card debt from emergencies or from stretching your future income?