Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are we ready to qualify for a VA Loan?

tag
mikeymike1994
Established Member

Are we ready to qualify for a VA Loan?

To give you a quick synopsis on our situation: I work as a legal secretary for a major law firm in SF. My spouse is a waiter at a high French restaurant in SF. I'm a veteran. I was honorably discharged back in 1992 but I have been a city apartment dweller ever since and my spouse and I are finally deciding to leave San Francisco for a home we can call our own. Until recently my credit was challenged but it now stands at TU: 625, EQU: 637, and TU: 659. I expect those scores to move up higher this month as well as the following months (hopefully closer to 675 to 700 by May). My current credit utilization is likely to be somewhere between 15% and 25%. My last 30 day late on my report was December of '13. There are some collections & charge offs on my report as well. The smaller ones ($50, $200, $300) are 1-3 years old. The larger ones ($1500?) are at or nearing the 7 year mark.

Also, my spouse has just recently received his green card in March 2014 so his credit is fairly new. However we have lived in the same apartment for 6 years and both our names are on the utilities so we can show on time rent and utilities payments for the last 12 months.

I feel we will be most prepared by middle to end of Spring. Can anyone give me an idea of where we might stand at the moment as far as qualifying for a VA loan?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Are we ready to qualify for a VA Loan?

Based on the info, I'd say yes.  Now whether it is for the amount you need, or terms, is the question.  Arre y'all leaving the Bay Area or looking to stay?

Message 2 of 10
mikeymike1994
Established Member

We're moving to the East Bay.  We both still work in San Francisco and most of our friend live in SF so we want to be as close to the city as possible, preferable right next to a BART station.