Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assumable mortgages....?

tag
Kozmo
Frequent Contributor

Assumable mortgages....?

I looked at a house a few weeks back before I bid on my current choice and the realtor said they had an assumable mortgage with FHA.

They just refi'ed and had a damn good rate. She said all you have to do is apply with Wells Fargo (the lender) and meet their requirements and we could take on the loan.

Now, given that rates are so low, and bound to go up soon, how do I go about making my soon to be mortgage an assumable one? It would make selling it that much easier down the road, no?

I know they were popular way back in the day. Any chance of a comeback?
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Kozmo
Frequent Contributor

Re: Assumable mortgages....?

Anyone??
Message 2 of 4
maliluka
Established Member

I'm not an expert but I believe that is dependent on your lender. I know that when we went over our paper work with the loan officer, one of the things that she told us was that ours was an assumable mortgage that we were qualifying for.

Message 3 of 4
Lel
Moderator Emeritus

@Kozmo wrote:
I looked at a house a few weeks back before I bid on my current choice and the realtor said they had an assumable mortgage with FHA.

They just refi'ed and had a damn good rate. She said all you have to do is apply with Wells Fargo (the lender) and meet their requirements and we could take on the loan.

Now, given that rates are so low, and bound to go up soon, how do I go about making my soon to be mortgage an assumable one? It would make selling it that much easier down the road, no?

I know they were popular way back in the day. Any chance of a comeback?