Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a Home in February

tag
resilient
Established Contributor

Buying a Home in February

Good day all. I am new to the Mortgage side and hoping to be a first time buyer, just crossed over from the credit card forums (spent a little over a year there). I am going to buy a house around the February/April time frame in Georgia, thinking about getting a 15 year since rates are much lower. I am looking for any advice available. Here is where I am at. I have talked to a real estate agent, and am going to look at some homes next weekend. I have not spoken to any lenders, yet, ut I have a few in mind, as I bank with PenFed, Chase, TIC FCU (local) and BofA. She also gave me a contact to Wells Fargo. I have a median score of around 715, no collections, baddies, all positive account history. I have quite a few inquiries on my EQ, which is keeping it down to 700, but the others aren't that bad, with less than 12 inquiries. My income is $87k gross, credit history is 13 years with 5.3 years AAoA, from the new card accounts i've opened since September 2012. I carry have about 7% utilization on my credit lines ( total limits $140k ). I have about $17k remaining on student loans, and a $600 installment loan for my car. I have not applied for anything since September 9 this year, in hopes of keeping the inquiries down for 6 months. How is my picture I'm painting to the bank? I don't want to get preapproval until mid month to early December. This is because I want to pursue some short sale homes in the area, and I know they usualy take longer, but would like to lock my rate in. Also, I am a service member and will be using my VA eligibility for it as well. Someone please point me in the right direction. Any help is greatly appreciated!