Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying in 3 Months - Need Advice

tag
MovingForward_2012
Valued Contributor

Buying in 3 Months - Need Advice

Hi Everyone!  I am new to the mortgage thread on myFico.  I need some desperate advice.

We have lived in our current home renting for 3 1/2 years (never late...always paid on the first) and now my landlady wants us to purchase her home.  She is really pushing this deal.  She wants it done ASAP even though the lease runs through May. However, we have gone back and forth on this several times as we don't feel completely sure buying her home is the right decision.  The home was built in 2000 but it hasn't been maintained by her since she put it up for rent and shuffled no paying tenants through it.  We initially rented the house 3 1/2 years ago because our credit was in the dumps and we couldn't move anywhere that required a credit check because of the 4 year old Ch 13 (that is now discharged and completely removed from our reports now).  The house was in bad shape when we moved in even though it was nice elegant home underneath the previous tenants' destruction.  When we first moved in, we didn't know we had the option to buy in the future...that came down the road and we also had a landlord tell us we had the option to buy before and then backed out of the deal so we know it isn't a deal until the deal is done.