Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I Qualify with Chapter 13?

tag
kdri

Can I Qualify with Chapter 13?

Hi Everyone!

First off - I've learned more about credit here than I ever knew in my entire life.  I think this data should be taught in schools...it would have benefited me greatly. 

Currently, I am looking to relocate from MA to NC.  My employment and income stays the same - however I do have a chapter 13 that I'm in my second year of paying.  The purchase price of the home I'm seeking would have a mortgage payment equal to or less than my rent in Massachusetts so I wouldn't be overextending myself in the courts eyes. 

Some background on the bankruptcy:  I filed due to back taxes and exorbitant student loans for under grad and grad school programs.  I never had any issues with credit cards but the ones I did have at the time of filing were included in the bankruptcy.  I retained my car and continued the payments - however that payment is not reporting on my credit report due to the bankruptcy.

Based on your collective expertise what do you think my chances are of a FHA loan with 3.5% down?

1. Mortgage Credit Scores:  

My Fico mortgage scores are:  EQ 658, TU 613, EX 621

2. Credit Negatives: If you have any, what negatives are on your credit reports. For each negative, please provide:

• Type: Chapter 13 Bankruptcy; filed 1/16 - all payments on time
    • DOFD: Chap 13 filed 1/16; no negatives since then
    • Miscellaneous
      • Oldest account at 13 years (paid auto loan)

3. Gross IncomeGross income (before witholdings, medical/dental, 401k contributions), per your IRS tax returns, is what is important when qualifying, not net income. 

• $105,000 (not including bonus and upcoming raise)

4. Source of income.  Where is the income coming from?

• Full time employment; additional 10K not included in gross from bonus

5. Monthly debt payments

• $598 (Chap 13 Trustee payment)
  • $488 (Auto Loan - about $11k remaining on loan)