cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I qualify for a mortgage and does it make sense to buy a condo now?

tag
dp321
Regular Contributor

Can I qualify for a mortgage and does it make sense to buy a condo now?

I am a recent college grad and going into graduate school for about two years in the same school I went for undergrad.

I will have a steady $24,000 gross income once I start my graduate research possition and I am think if buying a condo now makes sense or if I can even qualify for a mortgage to buying it.

My credit is good as shown in sig but it's awfully short - just over 2 year.

I have been going to school full time in the past four years and had no long term employment. (so it seems I am SOL on the FH! 6 months requirement or the 2 years prior, but I am recent grad should make a good case?)

The area is in Atlanta.

The condos I look for are around $80,000 - $85,000. I should be able to put down at least 20%.

Car is paid for, credit cards are PIF monthly. I have no student loan. Only real obligations are school fees of maybe $3000 a year of school fees and Christmas gift (JK on that last one). HOA is rather hefty at $200-$300

Now reasons to why I do and don't think I should buy... I know I know this is a credit board, but let me just say it.