Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use Disability as income for Mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can I use Disability as income for Mortgage

Hello,

I would like to know if I could use my disability(VA) as income when applying for a Mortgage. I presently work for the Fed Gov't and my income is 38,560 a year.  I also receive $6,492 a year in disability benefits.   I have been working for the Fed Govt a year next week. I previously worked for the City of NY and my earnings were $45,000 last year. I did not have a break in employment,  due to resigning from City of NY on a Friday and started working with Fed Govt the following Monday Morning. 

My credit scores are TU: 762  EQ: 742  EX: ?

I realize that since I am a Disabled Veteran that I am entitled to VA loan as well as reductions on closing cost.  Should I wait until next year when I will be at my present Job two years, before attempting a mortgage?

I am not interested in purchasing a home, I would like a one bedroom condo.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can I use Disability as income for Mortgage

I have 17 accounts on my credit report, but I only carry a balance one card ($248) and the remaining carry no balance. I have one account reporting Negatively and that is my student loan(60 days late 2x from 2005) that is paid off.
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I was in a first time home buyer's class with a guy who's sole income was disability. I dont know any thing other than that, but he was 2 weeks from closing on his house.
Message 3 of 9
deviousdevelopment
Valued Member

Yes, your disability income can be used to qualify for your mortgage loan.  If you go VA you also won't have to pay the VA Funding Fee.  I'm going through the process now and my VA Disability income was used.
Message 4 of 9
BrianB_The_Loan_Professor
Valued Contributor

So long as you can document that it is on going and not temporary yes you can count it

Brian