cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't believe I finally got there...Heres my whole story.

tag
PresidentPatton
Contributor

Can't believe I finally got there...Heres my whole story.

My jouney!
I wanted to let you all know that it is possible. I have come along way and want you all to know to keep pushing because you too could be in your house sooner than you think.
First off I made A LOT of mistakes when I was younger. I had several credit cards go into collection to then settle with them and then charge them up and let them go back into collections to continue haunting me. Not a good thing obviously but it is what it is. I went about 5 years not really caring about it. I lived on cash alone and went back to school adding another 9K to my debt in Student Loans. Which once I graduated I decided to also ignore…
Fast forward to March of 2012, I wanted new furniture! Of course I was denied with a since of laughter for even applying for financing. But Rooms To Go had a program set up with Rent A Center to be able to finance me so I went for it. Yes it cost me more money in the long run but it was to report on my credit file and I knew that would be good. Then in July I decided I was going to need a new car, I could get approved with an outrageous interest rate so I decided to ask my mother to co-sign with me to help me out. But the good thing here was I was building more credit…Then in October I got threating calls from a collection company for the Department of Education. They had gone through my HR department and was ready to start garnishing my wages!!! However they told me I could Rehab my student loans and all would go away, everything bad would disappear, I could get loans again and I would be much happier after 9 months. So I decided that was the best bet because I need to get my act in gear! So October was month 1 of 9 for my rehab program.