Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Carrying High Credit Balances

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Carrying High Credit Balances

Hi all,

My Experian score is 793. I work as a consultant and have to travel for work. As a result, I carry pretty high balances each month (20%-33%). Earlier I used to pay off multiple times a month and keep my balances below 10%. This was reflected in my credit score as well. Now I want to keep some cash handy on top of the 20% downpayment and closing costs as I know the costs can add up in the worst case scenario. Will carrying a higher balance affect my credit score/report that much? Also do I need to pull out my other scores as well?

TIA!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
RW771
Frequent Contributor

Re: Carrying High Credit Balances

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi all,

My Experian score is 793. I work as a consultant and have to travel for work. As a result, I carry pretty high balances each month (20%-33%). Earlier I used to pay off multiple times a month and keep my balances below 10%. This was reflected in my credit score as well. Now I want to keep some cash handy on top of the 20% downpayment and closing costs as I know the costs can add up in the worst case scenario. Will carrying a higher balance affect my credit score/report that much? Also do I need to pull out my other scores as well?

TIA!

I would try and keep them as low as I can. I'm assuming your Experian score is a FAKO score since the only way to obtain your true EX FICO score would be through a bank/financial institution?