Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collections- Still confused on Mortg. Qualication

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collections- Still confused on Mortg. Qualication

I am still a bit confused, and the more I read, the more confused I think I become. I am hopeful, somewhere along the way, stuff will start to sink in. Smiley Wink

My husband and I have been working on our credit for a few months now. Hoping to purchase a home in about a year. We have good income (over six figures combined w/job stability) and will be able to have atleast 5-10% saved for a down payment in one year.

The problem, is our credit. When my husband lost his job in 2005 all hell broke loose. I was a stay at home mom, that had to go back to work, but was unable to make much money. When my husband lost his job again in 2007, all hell broke loose again. We are riddled with collections, many small $$ medical collections.

I started to payoff a cpl of them, but stopped after I read that would be harmful to our credit instead of helping.  They are from 2007-2008 as we struggled to stay afloat.

I have a few CC charge offs too.

So~ I am working on PFD's or complete removals, but of course, easier said than done.  If I am unsuccessful, and these remain on my report, what are my options?

Do I have to wait till they fall off?  I also read that medical collections are not looked at when applying for a loan, is that true?  I had also heard that FHA won't look at collections at all over 2 years, paid or unpaid.True, or no?

Does USDA have the same credit guidelines?

ANY help is appreciated. I hope this didn't come across too confusing...

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
beb86
Valued Contributor

Re: Collections- Still confused on Mortg. Qualication

@Anonymous wrote:

I am still a bit confused, and the more I read, the more confused I think I become. I am hopeful, somewhere along the way, stuff will start to sink in. Smiley Wink