cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debt to Income ratio too high (help with calculating)

tag
Estexan07
Valued Member

Re: Debt to Income ratio too high (help with calculating)

@Anonymous wrote:

Won't consolidating my debt into a new loan hurt my credit score?    Also I'm not sure I would save very much on the monthly payments, maybe $50 or something trivial.

As a small business owner, I'm not sure which is better:

1.  Pay myself a higher salary/W2 income at the expense of less business profit

2.  Pay mysel a lower salary/W2 income with the benefit of showing higher business profit on the tax return

Which option do mortgage lenders prefer for small business owners?

Huh? Reconsolidating to an extended term (20, 30 years...) will most definitely lower your payment... a lot. 

With 220k in student loans at a payment of ~$2400 a month you must be on a 10 year term. On a 20 year term your monthly payment would be roughly $1500. A 30 year term would be $1300 a month.

Even then,your DTI would still be around 50%. You'd need to also drop the car payment to reach ~46%. This might fly with some lenders. To break the magic 45% you'd need to also drop the credit card payment or find a cheaper house.

To your original question. It's just all monthly payments added up (including projected loan) divided by gross monthly pay. 

Message 11 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

My student loans are mix of public and private, is there a way to consolidate that into one loan?

I was under the impression that student loans can only be consolidated if they are all public.

Message 12 of 14
ktl72455
Valued Contributor