Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disputed account?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Disputed account?

Hi there, I'm a noob in this forum, so forgive me if I posted on the wrong board. My wife and I recently just started researching mortgage loans since we're looking to buy a house. I learned from a blog that you can no longer have a disputed account on your credit report and get approved for a mortgage. I lived most of my life overseas so I never checked my credit until I came back to the states when I was 24. When I checked my credit the first time two years ago I found that I have a collection for comcast in 2007 for the amount of $30. But I just came back to the states in 2009. So naturally I disputed this account to EQ TU and EX, saying I have no knowledge of it. When I saw that you cannot have disputed account when applying for mortgage, I panicked and pulled my EQ report from this site. I cannot find the account anywhere in the report, it's as if it never existed. So my question is.......is this account disputed or simply removed? If it is disputed, is there anything I can do right now to keep the mortgage from being denied? 

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Walt_K
Senior Contributor

Re: Disputed account?

You should have received notification of the results of your dispute after you submitted it.  In any event, I'm assuming that you know that it was on all three credit reports previously, i.e., you had pulled all three reports, seen it on there, and disputed it with all three.  If that is the case, it would appear that it has been removed from at least EQ.  There's no issue there.