Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Divorce and VA loan

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Divorce and VA loan

I am going through a divorce and my current where I live with my 3 children was purchased using a VA loan.  As part of the divorce, I have to refinance within 2 years so that my soon-to-be-ex gets his VA loan rights back.  Has anyone here had experience with this? I have always worked and have a decent salary, but my credit is only good, not very good or great. 

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
foofighter74
Established Contributor

Re: Divorce and VA loan

If you have 2 years, I would use that time to work on your credit! I have no experience personally, but my wife's ex was supposed to refinance their HELOC and never did...so she's contemplating suing him as this was court ordered.  There are no VA issues there though. 

What are your credit scores like?

Message 2 of 4
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

What are the scores?

What is payoff?

What do you think it might appraise for?

Retired Lender
Message 3 of 4
andycloses

You may want to have a lender or two price refinance costs and payments for you sooner rather than later. Ask them (the lenders you shop) to work numbers for a conventional refinance first, and if your scores aren't high enough, have the lender work numbers for an FHA refinance. They should also run your file through the automated underwriting system(s) too in the near future (usually Desktop Underwriter -DU- is used for Conventional and FHA Scorecard for FHA loan scenarios).