cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you guys think I'll qualify for USDA?

tag
slappywhite
Established Member

Do you guys think I'll qualify for USDA?

So I'm looking into buying my first home using a USDA guaranteed loan.  I'll post some information and you guys tell me what you think.

Credit Scores

EQ- 718(myfico score)

TU- 712(myfico score)

EX-??

*No lates, collections, charge-offs, foreclosures, bankruptcies, etc.

I've been employed since November 2009 with the same business with an annual salary of $52K.  Before my current job, I worked in the same field at a different business making significantly less money because it was a part-time gig.  I still have this part-time gig (for 5 years now) which pays $9K annually for a total annual salary of $61K.   

I'm interested in a $200K house.  I currently pay $1450/month for the house I've rented for over a year.  I've played with a couple of online mortgage calculators which gives me a monthly payment of between $1200-$1300 per month.  This would put my front end DTI below the 29%, but my back end would be about 43% with my student loan debt and credit card payment, which is above the 41%.

So what do you guys think?  Any comments, suggestions, advice??

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: Do you guys think I'll qualify for USDA?

You should be fine.  The only thing that isn't 100% vanilla about your situation is the fact that you've had your full time employment for less than 2 years, but since it's been at least 6 months underwriting should accept it.  Some may say it's considered a job, and that requires 2 years to be at, but if you are indeed working full time, and are on salary (so commissions/overtime/bonuses aren't a significant part of your income) then in my opinion you should be OK

Free Mortgage Advice & Pre-Approvals (FHA, VA, USDA, Fannie, Freddie, Non-Prime, Construction, Renovation/Rehab, Commercial) since 2002