Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FHA question regarding income

tag
trc1962
Regular Contributor

FHA question regarding income

Just about ready to make an FHA application and have gotten my credit almost to where it needs to be. My question is on income, or low income. I sold my home 18 months ago and put a lot of money in the bank (over 50k) and I relocated to an area with more opportunities for employment. I am a teacher and have spent the last year and a half subbing to get my foot in the district door. This has meant earning a lower salary (24K) but it won't stay that way as I will be a contracted teacher again in the next year or so. I am wanting to buy a home now and I have the stash of money in the bank and I wonder if that will work for now? I would be willing to set a bunch aside in a trust that would ensure payment. Will that work, or will they simply say my salary is too low?

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

Re: FHA question regarding income

Lenders are interested in ongoing income ... not just cash assets. That said, income from investments are counted along with employment income.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Don't you need 3 years in between home ownership to get an FHA loan?  By that time you very well may have a new teaching job with increased salary and showing continual employment in your field (even with subbing).  Am I missing something?

Message 3 of 10
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

@Anonymous wrote:

Don't you need 3 years in between home ownership to get an FHA loan?  By that time you very well may have a new teaching job with increased salary and showing continual employment in your field (even with subbing).  Am I missing something?

^^^No.  You can sell your current home with FHA mortgage and get a new FHA mortgage immediately on the next purchase. Or even refinance the existing FHA with another one.