cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FIRST TIME BUYER - DO YOU THINK I CAN GET THE MORTGAGE?

tag
jorantes

FIRST TIME BUYER - DO YOU THINK I CAN GET THE MORTGAGE?

I am looking at purchasing my first home, but I have some unusual circumstances.

25 years old & single

Home Price is $328k

FHA Loan / 3.5% down (which I have)

Same Employer for 6 years / 75k+ salary income

700 FICO score

all credit cards & LOC have been paid below 10%

18 accounts total / 4 open / 6 yrs credit history 

highest loan ever was $48k auto loan (which I traded for less expensive car so I can improve my ratios)

currently $250 car payment

I have been working for the same employer for the last 6 years. The thing is over the last couple years my paycheck has been received in various ways. My employer has jumped between a few payroll companies, so sometimes I was a W2 employee - sometimes a 1099 employee and many times just received a company check. I never asked questions, as long as my check was there every week. Long story short - (being stupid) I only reported very little of my income. So now I want to buy a house and was told upfront before applying that the lender will pull my IRS transcripts via 4506-t form. I have been told that I need to amend my returns for the last 2 years and pay whatever taxes are owed including penalties. Once this is done should I be approved? And approx how long does it take to process my amended returns once they are mailed?

Hopefully someone can shed some light on my situation - anything I should look out for or be concerned about?

Thanks! Smiley Happy

Message Edited by jorantes on 08-10-2009 05:24 PM
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: FIRST TIME BUYER - DO YOU THINK I CAN GET THE MORTGAGE?

I am curious too as to the responses that you will receive as I am clueless.  My only thoughts are::