Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feasible first mortgage? HELP!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Feasible first mortgage? HELP!

Hi everyone,

I'm 29 years old, currently living at home and my goal for 2015 is to aggressively save money and purchase home.  I am an engineer and I have several hobbies that require extra space (think workshop, audio studio, etc.) so, I'm looking for a house with some room, most likely an acre+.  With that being said, here are some stats...

1. Credit.  Recent free reports show 788 from TransUnion and 703 from Equifax.  
  2. Income.  $101,000 annual salary.
  3. Source of income.  Engineering employment.
  4. Monthly debt payments.  Currently have about $11,000 in student loan debt which I could totally pay off or strategically lower to some value.  Roughly $650 monthly payments for student loan plus car insurance, phone bill, etc.  No rent, no other loans.    
  5. Employment (for those who are employed).  Steady employment for over 6 years, income has risen every year.
  6. Assets/Reserves.  401k has roughly $35,000.  By the end of 2015 if I saved aggressively instead of paying off student loan debt, I could have over $40,000 cash on hand.  
  7. Location.  Maryland.  Mainly Howard and Carroll counties.  Possibly Baltimore County.  
  8. Property.  Only interested in single family homes.  Would love to buy a lot and design my own home, but that's probably too lofty for a first home buy.  
  9. Value.  $250,000 - $340,000 seems like a reasonable value currently for the homes on zillow with acreage.  By the end of 2015, perhaps they will have fallen in price.  
  10. Occupancy.  Primary residence.
  11. Transaction Type.  Looking to do a 30 year loan.  I think I will stay away from FHA unless there is a really good reason.  I am planning to stay in the home for some time, so I would prefer fixed rates.  
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Feasible first mortgage? HELP!